

Company No. 4049507

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

of the

EUROPEAN ASSOCIATION OF SCIENCE EDITORS

The Eighteenth Annual General Meeting of the Company took place on

Friday 11 October 2019, at 11.30am

Hotel Progress, Rue du Progrès 9, 1210 Brussels, Belgium

MEETING MINUTES

The signatures of those present were recorded in the AGM Attendance Register. A list is included in Appendix 1 of these Minutes.

Apologies were received from Rod Hunt, Rachael Lammey and Ines Steffens

 To receive the Minutes of the Seventeenth Annual General Meeting held on 3rd June 2018 in Bucharest.

The motion to approve the Minutes was proposed by Alison Clayson and seconded by Joan Marsh. The minutes were approved unanimously.

2. To receive the President's report of Council activities 2018-2019

Pippa Smart had produced a written report which was circulated to meeting attendees and would be published on the EASE website in due course. It is attached to these Minutes (see Appendix 2).

She made the following points.

The new Council had been convened in Bucharest for 2019-2021. They had met twice by video conference in January and June and in person in October in Brussels.

She thanked Duncan Nicholas and the team for managing the social media outlets, and reported that the e-newsletter was well received with over 40% opening rates, and that web traffic in 2019 continues to be good, with 27 countries represented, and over 100 unique visitors.

The Bucharest Conference attracted over 130 participants from 23 countries, and included several complementary workshops.

There was to be a Discussion Forum on GDPR and Peer Review in Brussels that afternoon which was being hosted jointly by EASE and the EC. It was hoped that a statement would be produced to publish on the EASE website about good practice.

Planning for the 2020 Conference in Valencia was well underway. Pippa invited everyone to attend. The theme would be: *promoting sustainability and diversity in research: the role of editors.*

Pippa also thanked Sylwia Ufnalska for her tireless work on the EASE Guidelines to Authors, which is a popular EASE resource. These were available in 28 languages, and STM were keen to adopt and promote them.

Regarding the Regional Chapters, there were 8 published on the website, but not all are active. Croatia, Turkey and Vietnam were good examples. EASE was looking to provide umbrella support for these editorial groups in each region.

Pippa and Ana had visited Edirne, by invitation of Cem Uzun, and given a workshop which was live streamed to hundreds of virtual participants. Pippa had also presented at the ASEP April meeting in Moscow, which resulted in ASEP joining as an EASE Group with 73 members.

Pippa reported that EASE was pleased to become a signatory to the Leiden Declaration on transparent editorial policies for academic journals issued at the end of 2018 by the Institute for Science in Society in the Netherlands.

Pippa asked Joan Marsh to summarise the activities of the Gender Policy Group during 2018-2019. Joan reported that the co-chairs were Shirin Heidari, Tom Babor and herself. They had another unsuccessful submission to the EU Horizon 2020 fund. Next year the call will include publishers which might be easier for EASE.

The SAGER Guidelines have been translated into Korean, Chinese, Portuguese and Italian, but there have been some problems with the co-branding (EASE/SAGER), so it may not be obvious that they are originally from EASE.

3. To receive the Treasurer's statement of income and expenditure for the year ending 31 December 2018, as approved by the Directors

Rod Hunt, the EASE Treasurer had sent his apologies for not attending the meeting. Pippa agreed to report on his behalf. She was pleased to report that the organisation had reasonably high reserves, and some of this money was to be used for some development work and other initiatives. Work was already underway to improve the membership database, and the Council had approved a training initiative at their earlier meeting.

A summary of the financial report was circulated at the meeting and is attached to these Minutes (see Appendix 3).

4. To report the appointment of an independent financial reviewer for the 2017 accounts

The meeting was asked to confirm the reappointment of GRH Accountancy of St Neots Cambridgeshire as the independent financial reviewer for the 2019 accounts. The proposal was proposed by Joan Marsh and seconded by Alison Clayson. The proposal was unanimously agreed.

5. To receive the Secretary's Report

The Secretary's Report is attached to these minutes, (see Appendix 3). Mary Hodgson highlighted a few points from the report, the membership numbers and work to upgrade the membership database.

6. To receive the European Science Editing Chief Editors' Report

Ksenija Bazdaric's report is attached to these minutes (see Appendix 5). She reported that the ESE Editorial Board had 8 members. There were 44 submissions of which 60% were accepted. These included essays, viewpoints and original articles. The Journal continues to be indexed in Scopus. The SJR Citations were on the rise, 0.20% in 2019, compared with 0.17% in 2017.

The website continued to perform well with users from 140 countries, USA, China, UK, India and Germany all showing good numbers.

Pippa added that the Council had just approved a major development for the Journal and while no details could be given at this time, it would be an exciting development and news would be circulated in due course.

7. To announce the EASE Conference 2020 in Valencia

In the absence of Ines Steffens, Pippa announced that the 2020 EASE Conference would be help in Valencia, Spain on 11-14 June 2020. She invited everyone to attend and encouraged them to publicise the event widely in their own networks. A simple .pdf flyer was available to support this.

8. To transact any other business

No other business to transact.

Appendix 1

List of attendees, recorded in the AGM Attendance Register

Name	EASE membership No
Professor Ksenija Bazdaric	4753
Ms Alison Clayson	0923
Dr Christine Graham	4146
Mr John Hilton	4313
Mr Yateendra Joshi	0832
Dr Hervé Maisonneuve	0261
Dr Joan Marsh	1654
Professor Ana Marusic	1292
Dr Bahar Mehmani	5225
Dr Stephan Mertens	4577
Mr Duncan Nicholas	4490
Mrs Mandy Payne	5101
Mr Arjan Polderman	0647
Ms Pippa Smart	4178
Associate Professor Flaminio Squazzoni	5077
Mrs Sylwia Ufnalska	4087
Mr Cem Uzun	4579

Mary Hodgson (secretary)