The European Association of Science Editors (EASE) is an international community of individuals and associations from diverse backgrounds, linguistic traditions and professional experiences in science communication and editing.

Turkish Regional Chapter – Virtual Conference Session

EASE Virtual Conference, 11-12 June 2020
The EASE Turkish Chapter’s session in Turkish via Zoom
Editors and editing in times of crisis

The session was hosted by Professor Cem Uzun and involved over 300 participants. It began with the speakers talking about their experiences during the pandemic period and discovering the opinions of the various stakeholders. It was then followed by a discussion about the possible aspects of their experience regarding ethics, public use, medical health, science and journal development.

Please read the report of the event, produced by Cem Uzun.


MODERATOR
Cem Uzun Prof. of Otorhinolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery Trakya University School of Medicine, Edirne, Turkey; European Association of Science Editors (EASE), Council Member; EASE Turkish Chapter, Chairman; The Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey (TUBITAK) Turkish Academic Network and Information Center (ULAKBIM) TR Index, Committee Member; Previous chief editor and the editor at large of Balkan Medical Journal 
E-mail: cemuzun@yahoo.com


SPEAKERS (in alphabetical order)
Berna Arda Prof. of Medical Ethics and History of Medicine Ankara University School of Medicine, Ankara, Turkey; International Association for Education in Ethics, Executive Committee Member; World Association for Medical Law, Executive Comm. & Board of Governors Member; TUBITAK ULAKBIM TR Index, Committee Member
E-mail: berna.arda@medicine.ankara.edu.tr

Fatma Basar Specialist & Coordinator of the DergiPark Project TUBITAK ULAKBIM, Cahit Arf Information Center, DergiPark, Ankara, Turkey; EASE Turkish Chapter, Member
E-mail: fatma.basar@tubitak.gov.tr

Okan Calıyurt Prof. of Psychiatry Trakya University Faculty of Medicine, Edirne, Turkey; Deputy editor of Balkan Medical Journal
E-mail: caliyurt@hotmail.com

Yucel Demiral Prof. of Public Health Dokuz Eylul University School of Medicine, Izmir, Turkey; Chief editor of Turkish Journal of Public Health
E-mail: yucel.demiral@gmail.com

Cenk Demirdover Prof. of Plastic Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery Dokuz Eylul University School of Medicine, Izmir, Turkey; Chief editor of Turkish Journal of Plastic Surgery; EASE Turkish Chapter, Member
E-mail: cenkddr@gmail.com

Taner Kemal Erdag Prof. of Otorhinolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery Dokuz Eylul University School of Medicine, Izmir, Turkey; Chief editor of Turkish Achieves of Otorhinolaryngology; President of Turkish Society of Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery; EASE Turkish Chapter, Supporter 
E-mail: taner.erdag@deu.edu.tr

Ibrahim Kara Publisher & Founder AVES Publishing House, Istanbul, Turkey
E-mail: ibrahim.kara@avesyayincilik.com

Ertugrul Kilic Prof. of Physiology Medipol University, Istanbul, Turkey; President of TUBITAK ULAKBIM TR Index; Principle Member of the Turkish Academy of Science 
E-mail: ekilic@medipol.edu.tr

Oguz Kilinc Prof. of Chest Diseases Dokuz Eylül University School of Medicine, Izmir, Turkey; Chief editor of Turkish Thoracic Journal; EASE Turkish Chapter, Member 
E-mail: oguz.kilinc@deu.edu.tr

Kadri Kiran Prof. of Biology Trakya University Faculty of Science, Edirne, Turkey; Chief editor of Trakya University Journal of Natural Sciences; EASE Turkish Chapter, Member 
E-mail: kadrikiran@trakya.edu.tr

Zafer Kocak Prof. of Radiation Oncology Trakya University Faculty of Medicine, Edirne, Turkey; Chief editor of Balkan Medical Journal; TUBITAK ULAKBIM TR Index, Comm. Member; Member of Cancer Working Group, Turkish Academy of Sciences; EASE Turkish Chapter, Member 
E-mail: zaferkocak12@gmail.com

Erkan Mor Owner and Publisher Galenos Publishing House, Istanbul, Turkey 
E-mail: erkan@galenos.com.tr

Ipek Kivilcim Oguzulgen Prof.of Chest Diseases Gazi University School of Medicine, Ankara, Turkey; Chief editor of Turkish Thoracic Journal 
E-mail: ikoguzulgen@gmail.com

Osman Nuri Ozgirgin Prof. of Otorhinolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery Bayindir Health Group, Sogutozu & Icerenkoy Hospitals, Ankara & Istanbul, Turkey; Editor of the Journal of International Advanced Otology; President of International Vertigo Society
E-mail: ozgirgin@icloud.com

Ali Ekber Sahin Prof. of Elementary Education, Director of Hacettepe University Graduate School of Educational Sciences, Ankara, Turkey; TUBITAK ULAKBIM TR Index, Comm. Member 
E-mail: alisahin@hacettepe.edu.tr

Mustafa Secil Prof. of Radiology Dokuz Eylül University School of Medicine, Izmir, Turkey; Chief editor of Diagnostic and Interventional Radiology; EASE Turkish Chapter, Member
E-mail: mustafa.secil@deu.edu.tr

Ebru Soyuyuce Aydin Chief Expert TUBITAKULAKBIM, Cahit Arf Information Center, TR Index, Ankara, Turkey; EASE Turkish Chapter, Member 
E-mail: ebru.aydin@tubitak.gov.tr

Sibel Tabanlioglu Specialist & Coordinator of the TR Index & Project Manager of the Turkish Citation Index Project TUBITAK ULAKBIM, Cahit Arf Information Center, TR Index, Ankara, Turkey; EASE Turkish Chapter, Member 
E-mail: sibel.tabanlioglu@tubitak.gov.tr

Orhan Yilmaz Prof. of Otorhinolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery Karabuk University Faculty of Medicine, Karabuk, Turkey; Editor of KBB-Forum & ENT Case journals; TR Index Founder Member; EASE Turkish Chapter, Member 
E-mail: orhan@kbb-bbc.org