The European Association of Science Editors (EASE) is an international community of individuals and associations from diverse backgrounds, linguistic traditions and professional experiences in science communication and editing.

EASE Council 2021-2023

The EASE Council consists of 5 officers, the President, two Vice-Presidents, the Treasurer/company secretary and the Secretary (ex officio). In addition there are (at least) six ordinary Council members. The immediate Past President, and the Editors of the Association’s in-house journal (European Science Editing) and the EASE Digest are ex-officio members of Council.

The Council members (2021-2023) and their affiliations are listed below. 


Mr Duncan Nicholas
DN Journal Publishing Services
United Kingdom


Dr Ines Steffens
Editor-in-Chief, Eurosurveillance

Professor Cem Uzun
Vice Rector, responsible for university journals
Trakya University, Edirne

Council Members

Iva Grabarić Andonovski
Food Technology and Biotechnology journal

Mr Yateendra Joshi
Freelance copy editor and trainer

Ms Rachael Lammey
Head of Special Programs, Crossref
United Kingdom

Dr. Bahar Mehmani
Reviewer Experience Lead, Elsevier
The Netherlands

Mr Ali Şahin
Director of Operations, AVES

Dr. Jadranka Stojanovski
Assistant Professor at Department of Information Sciences, University of Zada
Research librarian at Ruđer Bošković Institute, Zagreb

Chief Editor, European Science Editing

Dr. Ksenija Baždaric
Research fellow, Department of Medical Informatics, Rijeka University School of Medicine

Editor, EASE Digest

Mrs Lynne Rowland
United Kingdom

Past President

Mrs Pippa Smart
PSP Consulting
United Kingdom


Matt Hodgkinson
Hindawi Limited
United Kingdom


Mrs Mary Hodgson
United Kingdom

EASE is managed by a Council that is elected every two years. Elections for the current 2021-2023 Council were held in May 2021. The Council was announced at the General Assembly at the 15th EASE Conference on 23 June 2021.