EASE Presidents 1982 to 2024

EASE’s first President was Dr Stephen Lock appointed when EASE was formed from the amalgamation of Editerra and ELSE in 1982. Since then 13 others have held the office. Presidents were rotated every three years, but from 2020 the term was reduced from three years to two.

In the picture above, taken in Bucharest at the 15th EASE Conference in 2018, we see five members who have served as President: Joan Marsh (2009-2015), fourth from the left on the front row, with newly elected President, Pippa Smart (2018-2020) Ana Marušić (2015-2018) standing on her left. Duncan Nicholas (2020-2023) is standing second from the right on the front row with Cem Uzun (2023-2025), who is the current President on his left.

Apologies for the missing/grainy images.


Professor Cem Uzun, Turkey

President 2023-25

Mr Duncan Nicholas, UK

President, 2020-2023

Mrs Pippa Smart

President 2018-2020

Professor Ana Marušić, Croatia

President 2015-2018

Dr Joan Marsh, UK

President 2009-2012 and 2012-2015

Mr Arjan Polderman, The Netherlands

President 2006-2009

Elisabeth Kessler, Sweden

President 2003-2006

A H van Loon, The Netherlands

President 2000-2003

David W Sharp, UK

President 1997-2000

Hervé Maisonneuve, France

President 1994-1997

Professor Paul Fogelberg, Finland

President 1991-1994

Dr John Glen, UK

President 1988-1991

Henri Oertli, France

President 1985-1988

Dr Stephen Lock, UK

President 1982-1985