EASE Council 2023-2025

EASE is managed by a Council of five officers: the president, two vice-presidents, the treasurer and the secretary (ex officio). In addition there are (at least) six ordinary Council members. The immediate past president and the editor of the Association’s journal (European Science Editing) are also ex-officio members of Council.

The Council is elected every two years. Elections for the current rotation, 2023-2025, were held in May 2023. The Council was announced during the General Assembly at the 17th EASE Conference on 1 June 2023.

The Council members (2023-2025) and their affiliations are listed below.

Cem Uzun


Chair of the department of otorhinolaryngology, head and neck surgery, Koç University School of Medicine, IstanbulTurkey

Cem has served on EASE Council since 2018, as Vice President for 2021-2023 and now as President for 2023-25. He initiated and chaired the EASE Turkish Regional Chapter until February 2022, now chairs the Regional Chapter Programme Committee and sits on the Editorial Advisory Board of European Science Editing.



Read more

Bahar Mehmani

Vice President

Reviewer Experience Lead, ElsevierNetherlands

Dr. Bahar Mehmani is Reviewer Experience Lead in the Global STM journals at Elsevier. She developed and leads Elsevier journals peer review strategy designed to increase peer review speed and quality, reviewer engagement, and author satisfaction with the quality and speed of the evaluation process, as well as the peer review process transparency. Bahar is a member of NISO’s diversity, equity, inclusion, and accessibility board (link), and advisory board member of the Peer Review Congress (link), chair of peer review workbench (link) and chair of EASE peer review committee as well as its council member. She received her PhD in Theoretical Physics from the University of Amsterdam (UvA) in 2010. Before joining Elsevier, she was a postdoc researcher at Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light (MPL).

Link to Bahar’s LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/mehmanib/

Link to Bahar’s Mastodon: https://mstdn.social/@bahar

Read more

Iva Grabarić Andonovski

Vice President

Editor, University of Zagreb Faculty of Food Technology and Biotechnology, Food Technology and Biotechnology journalCroatia

Editor of Food Technology and Biotechnology with over 20 years of experience in scientific publishing, with a Master’s degree in Horticulture and landscape design and a University specialist’s degree in Food management.

EASE Vice President from 2023, Chair of EASE Croatian Regional Chapter, and Co-Chair of Environment and Sustainability Committee. EASE member from 2014 and Council member from 2021.

Active in Croatian scientific community as one of the founders and currently the President of Croatian Association for Scholarly Communication (CROASC), member of HRČAK (Portal of Croatian Scientific and Professional Journals) Advisory Board, and Organizing committee member of PUBMET Conference on Scholarly Communication.

Read more

Matt Hodgkinson

Treasurer and Company Secretary

United Kingdom

I am on COPE Council and I am EASE Treasurer. I was previously Head of Research Integrity at Hindawi and an editor at BMC and PLOS, then a Research Integrity Manager with UKRIO.

Read more

Council members

Ex-officio Council members

Duncan Nicholas


Development Editor, Reproductive BioMedicine OnlineUnited Kingdom

Duncan is Past-President of EASE, Director of DN Journal Publishing Services, and Development Editor for Reproductive Biomedicine Online journal.  Duncan provides independent editorial consultancy and publishing skills training to publishers, researchers and the wider scholarly community.

Read more

Ksenija Baždarić

Editor-in-Chief, European Science Editing

Associate Professor, Rijeka University, Faculty of Health StudiesCroatia

Read more