Council nominations 2023-25

Electronic voting has now closed and the votes are being counted. The results will be announced to the membership at the General Assembly on 1 June, at which time the successful candidates will take up their positions in the new Council.

The Nominations Committee for the 2023-25 Council rotation was convened to manage the process of Council nominations and elections. It comprises Rachael Lammey (Council member); Pippa Smart (Past-President) and Ines Steffens (Vice President).

The Council is made up of a President, two Vice Presidents, a Treasurer/company secretary and a further six ordinary Council members. The immediate Past President, Secretary and the Editor-in-Chief of the journal European Science Editing are ex-officio members of Council in addition to those being elected.

Council nominations for the 2023-2025 rotation are:

Council officers

President – Professor Cem Uzun, Turkey
First Vice President – Dr Bahar Mehmani, The Netherlands
Second Vice President – Mrs Iva Grabarić Andonovski, Croatia
Treasurer and Company Secretary – Mr Matthew Hodgkinson, UK

Ordinary Council members
Seeking re-election

Mr Yateendra Joshi, India
Professor Jadranka Stojanovski, Croatia
Mr Ali Şahin, Turkey

Seeking election for the first time

Dr Are Brean, Norway
Dr Haseeb Irfanullah, Bangladesh
Mrs Delia Mihaila, Switzerland
Dr Fiona Murphy, UK
Dr Federica Napolitani, Italy
Dr Elisa De Ranieri, Italy
Professor Sigmar Rode, Brazil
Mohamad Taha, France


Panel Discussion

On 21 March Council members and nominees were invited to participate in a panel discussion to discuss ‘What are the challenges facing journal editing and publishing and what can EASE do to help?’

Pippa Smart, past president, chaired the session. This provided an opportunity for EASE members to meet our Council and nominees for the next rotation, and hear their views on what challenges we face over the coming months and years.

This event was free and open to all.